Day 1: Seattle, WA

Finally! I get a vacation from the ritual of life. I mean, I like working and studying, but everyone needs a break once in a while, right? ;)
Last night we arrived in Seattle, which I have never had the privilege of traveling to before. (Shout out to my followers and readers in Washington!) As morning dawned the next day, I was amazed at how many trees there are! “The Evergreen State” is the perfect name for Washington.

20150822-211208.jpg
The sunrise

Back where my family lives, we only get scattered, thin trees here and there. But then we come to Washington and we’re all like, “WHOA look at the trees!!!” 😱 Just to give you an idea of my tree obsession, I spent most of the day gawking at the mini forests fringing the busy roads. Yes, I am your classic tourist. You know, the kind that stares all around with wide eyes, is always taking pictures, and has no idea where she is if it wasn’t for the GPS. 😉
Before we began the main part of our trip, we decided to spend the day exploring the city. First, we drove to Lake Washington, which was absolutely beautiful. There, people swam in the cool water and picnicked nearby. Near the area was the city of Medina, which was full of huge luxurious houses. But the best part of the day was a hiking trail that we discovered in a more rural setting. Jumping out of the car, I tipped my head back to gaze at a thick stand of towering, majestic evergreen trees. 

  
The forest floor crunched underneath my feet as I wandered in. There was…such a quiet tranquility that one can’t find just anywhere. The thick clusters of trees, the rustic dirt path that faded into the foliage, the late afternoon sunlight filtering softly through the leaves and bathing the delicate lichens clinging to tree stumps in a pool of ambient light…you could sit there forever and breathe in the crisp air.

  
Hmm…it would be fun to live here yeah?
I’m looking forward to seeing more of the beautiful Northwest!

Yours,
That Girl Over There~

6 thoughts on “Day 1: Seattle, WA

  1. Aloha! I’m absolutely in love the first picture; I love the slightly smokey effect etched across, you’ve captured, in the picture. It’s absolutely breathtaking. I hope your having a day as wonderful as you and your blog! Do keep posting xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for describing how you feel about your experience about God’s evergreen state Washington! He knows how to delight us and cheer our hearts, doesn’t He? May all the people there have a hard time denying and an easy time to believe that our Creator loves us His children and the rest of His creation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

