The Future

Sometimes we don’t know why God lets things happen. The rollercoaster of life plunges down, down, down. We lose our jobs. We lose our friends. We lose our family. Yesterday, I lost a family friend who was like a second mom to me. I lost her to cancer. I was shocked and in disbelief the whole day. Every time I thought I’d run out of tears, they would spring forth to my already red and swollen eyes. Relatives and friends crowded into their house the whole day. The sounds of mourning were everywhere. It was probably the worst day of my life. That night, I couldn’t sleep. My heart was racing as though I had just gone on a run. Why did God let this happen? Why couldn’t she have gotten better? I always believed that she would, and now…she’s gone.
No matter what, I hold to the promise that one glorious day, we will all be united in the skies. I am so glad that this is our temporary home, full of pain and sickness and tears.

I know not what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future .

That Girl Over There

4 thoughts on “The Future

  1. Sorry that you have lost someone so dear like your second mom. Also you were disappointed about her recovery. It is the season to mourn and be comforted by God, isn’t it?
    I am glad that relatives and friends were there to weep with them and support them.
    Allow me to share with you words of God the Holy Spirit that comfort me — “And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.” Revelation 14:13 KJV

    Like

Leave a Reply

