Music Schedules and Prayer?

Music, music, and more music. That’s truly what makes up 70% of my life. Here’s this week’s music schedule:

Monday ~ ensemble class.
Tuesday ~ private piano and violin class (classical training)
Wednesday ~ private piano class (creative music training + improvisation techniques) & sister’s flute class
Every day ~ practice, practice, and practice!

Literally. Can I just crawl into a hole and hide?!

My head’s about to burst from a Mozart sonata and a Chopin nocturne. Not to mention a complex Spanish dance. And Vivaldi, Bach, Hadyn….the list goes on and on. But to be honest, I love it. I love immersing myself in a pool of music, letting the refreshing notes slide over my head. I couldn’t imagine my life without music. ✨✨
But recently I’ve come to notice that practicing and music lessons are taking up time that could be used for another purpose.
For example, I could be doing homework, helping in the kitchen, or cleaning the house. Most importantly, I could be praying.

“The introduction of music into their homes…has been the means of diverting their minds from the truth. Frivolous songs and the popular sheet music of the day seem congenial to their taste. The instruments of music have taken time which should have been devoted to prayer. Music, when not abused, is a great blessing; but when put to a wrong use, it is a terrible curse…” ~ a Christian authoress

I was shocked when I read those words in bold. Good, classical music training — being traded?! But I get the point. Instead of over-practicing, I should spend more time on my knees.

Because Who gave the gift of music to us in the first place?
So whether you a professional musician , a student, or perhaps just a stick-my-earbuds-in person — remember that music is not everything. God is.
Hope you enjoyed the looooong post~

That Girl Over There

8 thoughts on “Music Schedules and Prayer?

Leave a Reply

